The Vegetarian Mom

A veggie mom cooking it through the books!

Toddler Tuesday ~ Pencil Grip Pipe Cleaners November 28, 2011

Filed under: Christmas,Fine Motor,Toddler Tuesday — The Vegetarian Mom @ 10:25 pm

I seriously love Pinterest.  Here is another great idea I found!  I’ve used this in my classroom and at home with my Little Man.  I handed him a handful of pipe cleaners (red and green to make it a little Christmasy and festive) and I showed him how to poke one through a hole in a strainer.  He thought it was neat and tried several more.  Then I tried encouraging him to use one pipe cleaner and poke it into two holes to make an arch.  He thought that was fun, but it was even more fun when one end popped out while he was trying to poke the other end in.

Lots of fun and super easy.  After he filled most of the holes, I had him turn it over and pull them out one by one from the inside of the bowl.  It added in a bit of problem-solving when it came to removing one that was an arch.  It’s so neat to watch the trial and error process of their thinking!

Do you see the tripod grip?  This is an excellent activity for encouraging proper pencil grip.  It is almost impossible to push a pipe cleaner through one of those tiny holes using any other grip.  The easiest, and therefore most natural, is the tripod grip.  I used this in my classroom with students who needed help holding their pencils.  This was a much more fun and practical activity than the old triangle grips you can add to a pencil.

After poking pipe cleaners for about 10 minutes, Little Man decided the pipe cleaners were even more fun if you were running over them with a car.  In an attempt to add some level of skill and organization, I made a “road” for him.  He helped sort the pipe cleaners to pick the color of the road and later I made a curvy path for him to maneuver.

Overall, this was a fun evening activity.  I’ll try giving it to him again tomorrow while I cook dinner and see how he handles it.

Question:  If your little ones are in preschool, what activities do you do at home to encourage skill-building?

This post is linked up at:

 

6 Responses to “Toddler Tuesday ~ Pencil Grip Pipe Cleaners”

  1. Katie Says:

    This is AWESOME!! This would be SO great for my daughter who has weak fine motor skills from her Juvenile Arthritis! LOVE IT! And Thanks so much for sharing at Thrifty Thursday!

    However, I’d love for you to relink this up at Thrifty Thurs #2…I accidentally still had #1 open when I had just opened up #2. 🙂 So come on over and link it here: http://www.playingwithwords365.com/2011/12/thrifty-thursday-linky-party-2/ to make sure more people see it!

  2. Katie Says:

    Fantastic! Thanks so much for “relinking” ! 😀

  3. Think my little boy will enjoy this idea as much yours. He loves getting to play with kitchen tools. Thanks for sharing!

    Stopped by from Thrifty Thursday.

  4. […] we did this simple, yet FUN activity that The Vegetarian Mom linked up at my Thrifty Thursday Linky Party #2. E really enjoyed sticking the pipe cleaners […]

  5. Lesley Says:

    it is an awesome idea that in 20 years of working with young children I have never seen or thought of – great. (found you at Today at Play link up)

  6. Lori Says:

    Congratulations! Your post has been featured on T.E.A.C.H @ Cachey Mama’s Classroom. Go to this link to see and get your featured button: http://preschoolteacher81.blogspot.com/2011/12/teach-featured-postspins.html
    Lori


Leave a comment